The Americanlegion

the world's largest veterans organization

Renew Join now

Latest News

  • Wednesday, July 16, 2014

    District Legionnaires of Year Honored on Eve of Convention

    ALBANY — On the eve of the 96th Department Convention, ten outstanding legionnaires were honored at the Department Commander’s dinner held at Albany’s Joseph E. Zaloga Post 1520.

     Over the next few days, Department Commander Kenneth Governor noted, “you’ll see groundbreaking action” on the part of The American Legion — from a results-getting treatment for post traumatic stress and mild traumatic brain injury to the myriad of award-winning Legion programs across the state.

    Legionnaire of the Year Committee Chairman James Middleton Jr. announced the district Legionnaires of the Year, noting that from among them will be chosen the Department Legionnaire of the Year (to be announced Thursday, July 17, during the opening day of the convention).

    The District Legionnaires of the Year are:

    Dist. 1: Colleen McCarthy of Theodore Korony Post 253, Bronx.
    Dist. 2: Anthony DeNatale of Beauvais-Hudson Post 126, Staten Island.
    Dist. 3: Harvey Martel of Joseph E. Zaloga Post 1520, Albany.
    Dist. 4: Nikolaos Eggink of Malone Post 219.
    Dist. 5: Elwin Woolschlager of Lowville Memorial Post 162, Lowville.
    Dist. 6: Kenneth Taylor of Ouleout Valley Post 1689, Franklin.
    Dist. 7: John Cook of Kirk-Casey Post 366, Seneca Falls.
    Dist. 8: Charles Schack of East Aurora Post 362.
    Dist. 9: Theordore Martine of Mahopac Post 1080.
    Dist. 10: Joseph Ambrosino Sr. of Merrick Post 1282.